Thursday, April 30, 2009

IGS 2009 Conference Wrap-Up

The Indiana Genealogical Society thanks all those who attended our 20th annual conference on April 25th--the temperature was a summerlike 87 degrees (and at times the winds felt almost that strong!). IGS also thanks Ron Darrah for all his hard work as conference chair, and the Genealogical Society of Marion County for providing volunteers to staff the registration table and conference sessions.

For those who were not able to attend:
--Curt Witcher was elected as President and Marlene Polster as Corresponding Secretary, with Dawne Slater-Putt and Shirley Richison Fields re-elected to the positions of Vice-President and Treasurer, respectively.

--Jinsie Bingham, Dona Stokes-Lucas and Corasue Hatton were re-elected as District Directors for the West Central, Central and East Central Districts, respectively.

--The Society of Civil War Families of Indiana inducted 27 new members in a special ceremony.

--Mary Kraeszig won the Elaine Spires Smith Family History Writing Award for her article "Thomas Jefferson Riley Native Hoosier and Confederate Soldier."

The next conference will be on Saturday, April 10, 2010 at the Allen County Public Library in Fort Wayne. Dick Eastman, of Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter, will be the featured speaker.

No comments:

Post a Comment