Tuesday, May 1, 2007

Civil War Society Inducts Inaugural Members

The Society of Civil War Families of Indiana inducted their first members at a ceremony during the Indiana Genealogical Society's annual conference on April 28 in Fort Wayne.

These new members submitted their applications during the 2006 calendar year. SCWFI evaluators Ron Darrah, Diana Moore, and David Gladding-Vanderipe examined the evidence provided and approved their submissions.

During the ceremony, which was held in the theater of the Allen County Public Library, SCWFI members received their membership certificates and society medals. Members of the 19th Indiana Infantry, a Civil War reenactment group (participating in full uniform), assisted in the presentations. A photo session followed the ceremony.

The Indiana Genealogical Society congratulates all the new SCWFI members:

1) Sara E. Harrell Brown of Marion, IN
ancestor: Joseph Patterson, 11th IN Cavalry, Huntington County

2) Michael L. Lance of Spring, TX
ancestor: Finas Euen Lance, 12th IN Vol. Inf., Pike County

3) Mobie McCammon of Bloomington, IN
ancestor: William McCammon, 43rd IN Vol. Inf., Lawrence County

4) Roberta Ruth Caito of Indianapolis, IN
ancestor: John C. Hester, 19th IN Vol. Inf., Jay County

5) Larry W. Collins of Maineville, OH
ancestor: Americus Hedden, 91st IN Vol. Inf., Daviess County

6) Elizabeth A. Hyde Knapp of Bloomington, IN
ancestor: Isaac Porter Hopewell, 43rd IN Vol. Inf., Monroe County

7) Becky E. Higgins of Streamwood, IL
ancestor: Eliphalet Barber Miller, 68th IN Vol. Inf., Rush County
ancestor: Benjamin A. Stewart, 82nd IN Vol. Inf., Jefferson County

8) Lina M. Zerkle of Waterloo, IN
ancestor: Daniel F. Hamman, 88th IN Vol. Inf., DeKalb County

9) Judith A. McCoy of S. Palm Beach, FL
ancestor: John A. McCoy, 65th IN Vol. Inf., Spencer County

10) Diana S. Moore of Indianapolis, IN
ancestor: James M. Moore, 76th IN Vol. Inf., Shelby County
ancestor: William Baker, 70th IN Vol. Inf., Shelby County

11) Richard E. Ford of Wabash, IN
ancestor: James Ford, 8th IN Vol. Inf., Wabash County

12) Robert W. Reid of Indianapolis, IN
ancestor: Peter Langwill, 83rd IN Vol. Inf., Ripley County

13) Nathan C. Bowen, Jr. of Fayetteville, NC
ancestor: Tavner B. Bowen, 120th IN Vol. Inf., Knox County
ancestor: William G. Booker, 30th IN Vol. Inf., Sullivan County

14) Kenneth M. Bowen of Fayetteville, NC
ancestor: Tavner B. Bowen, 120th IN Vol. Inf., Knox County

15) Patricia R. Pittman of Fayetteville, NC
ancestor: Tavner B. Bowen, 120th IN Vol. Inf., Knox County

16) Evelyn K. Rhodes of Fayetteville, NC
ancestor: Tavner B. Bowen, 120th IN Vol. Inf., Knox County

17) Rhonda J. Stoffer of Warren, IN
ancestor: Thaddeus Camblin, 54th IN Vol. Inf., Grant County

18) Rebeckah R. Wiseman of Albion, IN
ancestor: William Brubaker, 17th IN Vol. Inf. & 152nd IN. Vol. Inf., Whitley County
ancestor: Jacob Wise, 30th IN Vol. Inf., Whitley County

19) Carolyn S. Jones of Salem, IN
ancestor: John Fearnot, 124th IN Vol. Inf., Greene County
ancestor: Joseph W. Whitworth, 145th IN Vol. Inf., Greene County

20) Michael M. Maben of Bloomington, IN
ancestor: Richard Cox, 67th IN Vol. Inf. & 24th IN Vol. Inf., Lawrence County

21) David L. Bonnett of Terre Haute, IN
ancestor: William Balfe, 11th IN Vol. Cav., Vigo County

22) Sherman D. Belcher of Vallonia, IN
ancestor: William Fry, 31st IN Vol. Inf., Monroe County

23) Richard J. Sprague of Anderson, IN
ancestor: James Sprague, 10th IN Vol. Inf., White County

24) Martha Jane Latko of Highland, IN
ancestor: Holdridge Clark, 151st IN Vol. Inf., Jasper County
ancestor: George P. Daugherty, 11th IN Vol. Cav., Jasper County

25) Karen H. Loy of Columbus, IN
ancestor: Jacob Grow, 83rd IN Vol. Inf. & 17th IN Res. Inf., Jackson County

26) Ann Carrington of Fort Lupton, CO
ancestor: Edmond H. Carrington, 43rd IN Vol. Inf., Hendricks County

27) Jay B. Wright of Fayetteville, NY
ancestor: Isaac S. Collings, 57th IN Vol. Inf., Hamilton County

28) Carol H. Blohm of Carpentersville, IL
ancestor: William Cato, 143rd IN Vol. Inf., Dubois County

29) Janice Blanchard of Kokomo, IN
ancestor: Ira A. Lynch, 10th IN Vol. Inf., Fayette County
ancestor: Milton Sprong, 104th IN Vol. Inf., Fayette County

30) Irene H. Krieger of Batesville, IN
ancestor: Asa Hart, 7th IN Vol. Inf., Decatur County

Applications for 2007 are now being accepted. The deadline to apply is December 31, 2007, with the new members to be inducted during a ceremony at the IGS annual conference on April 5, 2008 in Evansville, Indiana. Application forms are available on the IGS website (http://www.indgensoc.org/SCWFI.html)

No comments:

Post a Comment