Thursday, March 31, 2011

Update: Indiana House Bill 1079 (Access To Veterans Records)

On March 30, the Indiana Senate's Local Government Committee deadlocked on House Bill 1079, the bill that would permit public access to veterans' discharge records once the Social Security numbers are removed.

The bill has the support of the committee's chair, Senator Connie Lawson (Hendricks & Putnam counties), and she intends to bring it before the committee when they meet again next week. If HB 1079 does not pass the committee then, it is unlikely it will survive this legislative session.

Please e-mail the committee members before next week's meeting and let them know the importance of this bill:

Phil Boots (Boone, Clinton, Fountain, Hendricks, Montgomery & Warren counties) - Senator.Boots@iga.in.gov

Jean D. Breaux (Marion County) - s34@iga.in.gov

Doug Eckerty (Delaware & Madison counties) - Senator.Eckerty@iga.in.gov

Beverly J. Gard (Hamilton, Hancock & Henry counties) - Senator.Gard@iga.in.gov

Travis Holdman (Adams, Allen, Blackford, Grant & Wells counties) - Senator.Holdman@iga.in.gov

Lindel Hume (Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Knox, Martin, Orange & Pike counties) - s48@in.gov

Jim Smith (Clark, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Scott, Switzerland & Washington counties) - Senator.Smith@iga.in.gov

Thomas J. Wyss (Allen County) - Senator.Wyss@iga.in.gov

Richard D. Young, Jr. (Crawford, Dubois, Harrison, Perry, Spencer, Warrick & Washington counties) - s47@in.gov

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment